Suite Bergamasque

This suite is one of Debussy’s most famous piano suites, composed of 4 movements. Debussy first made this in 1890 when he was 28 but he had made many alterations before publishing the suite in 1905. The title of this suite comes a stanza from Paul Verlaine’s poem - Clair de Lune. This poem is also what Debussy’s 3rd movement is also named after.

The first movement is named Prélude. This piece in F major and in 4/4 time.

Menuet is the second movement. This is in A minor and 3/4 time.

Clair de Lune is the third and most famous movement. This is in the key of D♭ major and written in 9/8 time.

The last movement is Passepied. This is in F♯ minor and in 4/4 time.